Refined Juice4Health Family Carton

The first stage in my design was to add branches to surround the fruit. I copied and pasted these branches from my ‘Refined Drawings’ as I thought they were a key feature in my packaging. I had drawn them in Photoshop from an ‘Additional Photo’ which was taken by myself in Norway. The leaves were outlined in one line with a thin black brush, the gaps inside the leaves were where there were holes in the photos – making it look more realistic. The branch is a solid black colour and follow the direction of the leaves, I made it a solid colour to make it stand out and add more detail. I copied the bottom tree to the top to make it symmetrical – this would cover the Side/Front of the packaging, I also copied another tree drawing above the top Front Side so that it would fill the Spout and Gable. As you can see in the first image, the branches don’t look normal and this isn’t the look I was going for in my final design. So I erased a part of the branch and then re-drew it so that it flowed better around the page and didn’t look identical to the one just below.

The next stage was to add the fruits into my design, I used the Peach from my ‘Refined Drawing 2’ and the Pineapple from my ‘Refined Drawing 3’. The blue line in the middle of the page shows which side the Front and Side would be – on the left will be the Side and on the right will be the Front of the packaging. I wanted both fruits to be on the front of the packaging so that it is easy to see and you don’t have to turn the packaging around to see the images. I tried a few compositions with the two fruits, I liked the 3 image the best however as you can see the Pineapple overlaps the Peach. I erased the Pineapple so the Peach looked like it was at the front, I did this as I think the Peach has more detail and is a little smaller than the Pineapple.

The next stage was to add colour to my packaging. This design is inspired by Caroline Church and in her work she doesn’t use any colour – as I said in my evaluation of her work I think that I could improve it by adding a little colour to help show what the fruit are even more. The first image is the background from my ‘Refined Drawing 2’ which is of the Peach – the red and peach colour help to show off the actual drawing of the Peach well. The second image is the background from my ‘Refined Drawing 3’ which is of the Pineapple – the yellow and green also help to show off the actual drawing of the Pineapple. As I was including both fruits into my final design it would’ve looked a little bit odd if I included just one of the previously mentioned backgrounds, this would’ve been because the peach background wouldn’t have matched the Pineapple and the pineapple background wouldn’t have matched the Peach – so I needed to try and incorporate the colours from each piece and try to create and exciting background. The third image is my final design for the background, I think that this works well as you can still clearly see which colours match what fruit, I did this by splitting the two backgrounds diagonally from top-left to bottom-right and then blended the two together with slight overlapping colours to make the edges less sharp.

I then added the black and white drawing of the trees and fruit over the top of the background, I am happy with this look as the colours still match the fruits well and it isn’t too confusing – the plain peach colour on the left-hand side is good because this is where I can add important information about the fruit, such as what’s in it.

The name of the company was added above the fruits and below the trees so that is most or less centred, I also added text on the left-hand side to show what is inside the Fruit Juice. I used this type of text because it suites the rest of my design, the typography is sophisticated and so is Caroline Church’s work. A barcode was added to the bottom-left of the design as these are fairly important when buying a product. I haven’t included other important information such as nutritional information as there are 2 other sides to this design which you can not see, this information can be added onto the back – keeping the Side and Front looking clean and professional.

The final image was made by running a program to transform my Flat Refined Drawing into a Final Piece.

Leave a comment