Refined Juice4Health Gym Goers Carton

For the first stage of my design  I needed to choose a suitable background and fruit to use – as well as it clearly linking to sporty people.  I used the fruits and background from my ‘Refined Drawings’ as I thought that these were well drawn and would work well in my final design. To clearly link my design to Gym Goers I had drawn a kettle bell and dumb bell – both are pieces of equipment that can be seen in a gym. I think that the background is a suitable colour as none of the fruits are purple/pink, I like the water colour effect that has been added on top of the solid purple background as it gives it more detail – the solid background looked dull. The watercolour effect was added by a free brush of the internet, I made it a little pinker so the solid background looked a little more appealing. From my ‘Refined Drawings’ I kept the Spout and Gable the same, as I really liked how it looked on the final packaging. I started off with 1 kiwi and copied and pasted it several times all across the page – having them overlap with one another. I then did the same with the lemon slice and made all them a layer below the kiwi so that they were on top.

This second stage is where I changed my design a fair amount from my ‘Refined Drawing’, I really  liked how I made the Spout and Gable in the first stage I decided to carry it on for the Front/Side – making the fruit seem to slowly fall down the cartoon. As I wanted to have the name of the company ‘Fruit4health’ on the Front side of the carton I decided to leave this side till last – the blue line shows which side is what, the left being Side carton and right being Front carton. In the first image it shows the cherries being added, the second image shows the apples being added, the third image shows the lemon slices being added and finally the fourth image shows the kiwi being added. I think that this layout is much better than my previous design as it is more immersive and looks more professional – you can also clearly see what the individual fruits are. This was all done with the same method previously explained, copied and pasted fruit.

The next step was to make the fruits on the Side of the carton look more natural, previously they had a distinctive separation between the fruits. I added more kiwi over the top of the lemon/kiwi to blend them together better, added more lemon over the top of the apple/lemon to blend them together and added more cherries over the top of the apple/cherry. Now just focusing on the Front cover of the carton, as you can see there is a small bit of fruit coming across from the Side cover – I copied this small part over to the other side so that it became symmetrical, making a clear middle of the name of the company. I started to ad the gym equipment to my design, I chose not to use the kettle bells as there was too much yellow already on the page – coming from the lemon slices, I also feel like if these were in the final design then it my have made it too confusing with all the different things going on. I decided to just add the dumb bells around the edge of the fruit, changing the sizes and rotation of them to make it look more abstract. I personally think that this works well and help to show that this Fruit Juice Packaging is aimed at Gym Goers.

 

The name of the company was added to the middle of the of the Front cover, I chose to place it here as the text can be fairly large and still fit all in the Front cover. The font used also helps with making the name look bold, as the lines are thick. I like this as it stands out well and can relate to Gym Goers as a sporty advertisement can be aggressive and bold. I also added the flavour of the fruit to the Gable as this is right at the top. A barcode was added to the bottom-left of the design as these are fairly important when buying a product. I haven’t included other important information such as nutritional information as there are 2 other sides to this design which you can not see, this information can be added onto the back – keeping the Side and Front looking clean and professional.

The final image was made by running a program to transform my Flat Refined Drawing into a Final Piece.

Leave a comment